Loving Yeshua

Obedience doesn’t give us salvation, it never did throughout history. Rather, it demonstrates that we are already saved. If we are truly His, belonging to Yeshua (Jesus) then we will willingly, lovingly obey Him, which is the same as obeying the Father. They do not contradict each other’s commands. Yeshua perfectly lived out and instructed others to obey the Torah. If we love Him, we will follow His instructions.

Imagine a teenager or young adult who is repeatedly disobedient to his parents. He verbally says he loves them but through his actions continues in disrespectful disobedience. Would the parents have any reason to believe his words – that he really loves them? There would be no evidence to support his hollow words, regardless of how often or loudly he proclaimed them.

“Don’t think that I have come to abolish the Torah or the Prophets. I have come not to abolish but to complete. Yes indeed! I tell you that until heaven and earth pass away, not so much as a yud or a stroke will pass from the Torah – not until everything that must happen has happened.” ~~ Matthew 5: 17-18

“Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me, and the one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and reveal myself to him.” ~~ John 14: 21

Yeshua answered him, “If someone loves me, he will keep my word; and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. Someone who doesn’t love me doesn’t keep my words – and the word you are hearing is not my own but that of the Father who sent me.” ~~ John 14: 23-24

“Just as my Father has loved me, I too have loved you: so stay in my love. If you keep my commands, you will stay in my love – just as I have kept my Father’s commands and stay in his love. I have said this to you so that my joy may be in you, and your joy be complete.” ~~ John 15: 9-11

 

Leave a Reply

