His Presence

At minimum, there are three great points to reflect upon in the passage below: (1) We should have the same desire to understand Elohim and please Him as Moses expresses. (2) We should have the same heart as Moses when he says basically, don’t make us go anywhere unless You come with us. (3) What differentiates God’s people from the rest of the world? His presence. Think on that precious nugget of truth for awhile!

Moshe said to Adonai, “Look, you say to me, ‘Make these people move on!’ But you haven’t let me know whom you will be sending with me. Nevertheless you have said, ‘I know you by name,’ and also, ‘You have found favor in my sight.’ Now, please, if it is really the case that I have found favor in your sight, show me your ways, so that I will understand you and continue finding favor in your sight. Moreover, keep on seeing this nation as your people.” He answered, “Set your mind at rest – my presence will go with you, after all.” Moshe replied, ‘If your presence doesn’t go with us, don’t make us go on from here. For how else is it to be known that I have found favor in your sight, I and your people, other than by your going with us? That is what distinguishes us, me and your people, from all the other peoples on earth.” ~~ Exodus 33: 12-16

Leave a Reply

