MMM Day 3: Do Not Test God

March Mitzvot Madness Day 3

This command is one that I believe most of us don’t take seriously enough.  Are we questioning or doubting YHWH?  Are we asking Him to prove something by a sign?  Be careful.  See the verses below and note how Yeshua our Messiah quoted Deuteronomy 6 to resist HaSatan’s temptations.

The place was named Massah [testing] and M’rivah [quarreling] because of the quarreling of the people of Isra’el and because they tested Adonai by asking, “Is Adonai with us or not?” ~~ Exodus 17: 7

Do not put Adonai your God to the test, as you tested him at Massah [testing]. ~~ Deuteronomy 6: 16

Adonai spoke again to Achaz; he said, “Ask Adonai your God to give you a sign. Ask it anywhere, from the depths of Sh’ol to the heights above.”  But Achaz answered, “I won’t ask, I won’t test Adonai.” ~~ Isaiah 7: 10-12

Yeshua replied to him, “But it also says, ‘Do not put Adonai your God to the test.’” ~~ Matthew 4: 7  

2 thoughts on “MMM Day 3: Do Not Test God

  1. This spoke to me and explained something I had wondered about. I had asked God for a child but I also had another lesser request with regard to somebody else changing their mind over some chickens I had promised and regretted, as I felt it wouldn’t turn out well for the chickens. And I was thinking if God can answer my chicken prayer then he can give me a child. Well the chicken prayer wasn’t answered and unfortunately it turned out as I feared, but about 2 months after my prayer I learnt that I was pregnant. I am now the blessed 47 year old mother of a 9 month old but I always wondered why God never answered my chicken prayer and I see (apart from making me watch more what I said ) that I was testing him. I am so grateful that God was still so gracious in hearing my main prayer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

