MMM Day 30: Do Not Turn to Idols

March Mitzvot Madness Day 30

Most people would never consider themselves to be idolatrous.  “Me?  I don’t have pagan statues on my mantel that I bow down to!”  Well, idolatry is much more than that.  We can “turn to idols” in many ways.  Anything that comes between us and our Creator is suspect.  There’s a saying — whatever you turn to for comfort in your time of need is your god.  That puts a new spin on “comfort foods”, doesn’t it?  Since its inception I’ve abhorred the name of the television program “American Idol” and refused to watch it.  To me, this is a blatant in-your-face rejection of YHWH couched as “entertainment”.  Oh, may Adonai have mercy on this generation, and our nation.

You are to have no other gods before me.  You are not to make for yourselves a carved image or any kind of representation of anything in heaven above, on the earth beneath or in the water below the shoreline.  You are not to bow down to them or serve them; for I, Adonai your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sins of the parents to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, but displaying grace to the thousandth generation of those who love me and obey my mitzvot. ~~ Exodus 20: 3-6

You are not to make with me gods of silver, nor are you to make gods of gold for yourselves. ~~ Exodus 20: 20

Do not cast metal gods for yourselves. ~~ Exodus 34: 17

Do not turn to idols, and do not cast metal gods for yourselves; I am Adonai your God. ~~ Leviticus 19: 4

You are to burn up completely the carved statues of their gods. Don’t be greedy for the silver or gold on them; don’t take it with you, or you will be trapped by it; for it is abhorrent to Adonai your God.  Don’t bring something abhorrent into your house, or you will share in the curse that is on it; instead, you are to detest it completely, loathe it utterly; for it is set apart for destruction. ~~ Deuteronomy 7: 25-26

Leave a Reply

