Is Obedience Legalism?

You’ve probably been taught this, whether overtly or covertly.  Obedience is legalism.  Is that true?  Of course not!  Even the most surface level review of Holy Scriptures shows this is not the case.  But nonetheless the majority of modern Christian churches teach that it is true.  I shutter to think of the consequences to those teachers who push this view!  Certainly this is in direct opposition to what YHWH says.

People claim that since Jesus came to Earth love has replaced obedience, just like the New Covenant supposedly replaced the old “inferior” one.  However, the Bible is clear that to love God is to obey Him.

For loving God means obeying his commands. Moreover, his commands are not burdensome ~~ 1 John 5: 3

Yeshua (Jesus) said it also.

If you love me, you will keep my commands….Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me, and the one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and reveal myself to him. ~~ John 14: 15, 21

Yeshua never said to forget the Torah commands, do whatever you want, be tolerant of all things, and just have warm fuzzy feelings and flowery words about everyone.  His commands are the same as YHWH’s commands.

For I have not spoken on my own initiative, but the Father who sent me has given me a command, namely, what to say and how to say it.~~ John 12: 49

Oh, how I pray more hearts and minds will open to the Truth and how it has been so long compromised by faulty teachings of men!  Keep praying for those who do not see, who are blinded by the doctrines of “church fathers” leading them astray from sound Biblical truth.  Just when I think it borders on hopeless, Adonai graciously reminds me that I was one of them not too many years ago, but by His unending grace He opened my heart and mind.  He has more people He plans to reach, so we must keep speaking (and living out!) the truth and praying.  Keep up the good fight!